Jump to content


Photo

CSCA Quest System

csca quest quests system

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 casper667

casper667

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 548 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 20 July 2013 - 03:00 AM

CSCA Quest System
By: Casper Gaming (Casper667)
Last Update: July 30, 2013
Latest version: 1.0.0

Introduction

Creates a powerful but easy to use quest system in your game.
- Separate quest lists show only quests in progress, completed, or all quests!
- Each quest list can be sorted by alphabetical order, difficulty, or location!
- Unlimited rewards for each quest, automatically earned (or not) on quest completion!
- Unlimited amount of objectives per quest.
- Easy to manage quests and use quest data in conditional branches.


Screenshots

Basic view of the quest system and displayed information:

d2k.png

Want to know more about the quest? View the objective history and description of the quest:

jkc2.png

Make it easy on the user by allowing them to sort the quests in various ways:

x7tu.png

Show pop up toast window when quest is completed:

1i8k.png


How to Use
Place in your materials section. Setup required. Instructions in script.

 

Script
Text file is found here(copy and paste everything into your script editor in the materials section): LINK
Requires CSCA Core Script to work properly - Get it here!

Optional: To easily add this script to the menu, use the CSCA Menu Organizer - Get it here!

Optional: The CSCA Toast Manager is required for the pop up toast messages - Get it here!

 

Credit
Casper Gaming

Terms
http://www.caspergam...rms_of_use.html



#2 shadowblack

shadowblack

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 470 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 25 July 2013 - 08:26 AM

After testing this script I noticed just one issue: Once you start a new game and make a save any changes made to the quests will not show up in the game, so you must start a new game to see them.

 

For example:

1) You have a quest called "Annoy the Villagers!". You start a new game and make a save (without accepting any quest)

2) You then decide that the quest should be named "Annoy all the Villagers!" instead. You make the change, but when you load your save game and accept the quest it shows the old name

If you want to see the new name you MUST start a new game.

3) Then you decide that the quest should be named "Annoy all of the Villagers!" instead. Cue a third new game if you want to see the change in the game

 

If this script is used in an incomplete game where new quests get added over time, the players will not be able to use old saves and will have to start a new game every time a quest is added or updated (because of a typo, for example).



#3 casper667

casper667

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 548 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:27 PM

It's not recommended to test using old saves in the first place, or to expect to be able to use an old save file with an updated game (default scripts also have this "issue").

If you absolutely must re initialize the quests, you can make the script call: 

$csca.initialize_quests

Edited by casper667, 25 July 2013 - 02:28 PM.


#4 Amber

Amber

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 155 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 05:41 AM

The quest reward isn't showing armor, instead it shows blank



#5 TheDito

TheDito

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:38 AM

Hello, and thank you for this script. I am new to the game and the community, and am currently designing a personal game for my sons to play. I have been busily learning and watching tutorials, and I tried me best over the past couple of days to figure out how to implement your script. I am unsure if I am supposed to create a common event with the script calls or if I have to edit the script itself or both. Some of the terminology is still new to me so forgive me if I'm missing something simple. Thanks again for your support; I'll keep trying to figure it out on my own in the mean time. This is a terrific learning experience.

#6 TheDito

TheDito

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 11:07 AM

Never mind, I figured it out. It was so simple! I just forgot the colon in my script calls.

#7 Galv

Galv

    Forum Defender

  • Staff Manager/Global Mod
  • 5609 posts
  • LocationAustralia
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Awards Bar:

Users Awards

Posted 30 July 2013 - 03:53 PM

TheDito, please do not double post within 72 hours - edit your previous post instead (edit link is to the left of the quote button in your posts). Thanks.


gs-banner_zpsfc59b073.pngp7GQmH4.png 2hjKrWv.png


#8 casper667

casper667

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 548 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 30 July 2013 - 07:45 PM

@Amber the armor is working in my test project (you can see from the screenshots). You'll need to give me some more information to think of what could possibly be going wrong.

@theDito glad you were able to get it to work for you :)



#9 KayDgirl91

KayDgirl91

    Phrostbyte

  • Member
  • 438 posts
  • LocationNorthern Utah, USA
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:27 PM

Amazing quest script!! I love scripts that are simple to apply to your current projects, and yet powerful enough to be able to do exactly what you need them to do. Awesome, awesome, awesome! Will definitely be using and crediting! :)


Current Projects At SircleSoft Studios (Website) (Blog)

Nyan%20Cat%20Button.jpg Shallows%20Island%20Button.jpg

Nyan%20Cat%20GIF.gif

 

RPG Maker VX Ace "Let's Make" Tutorials

Spoiler

 

Want to see a penguin walking back and forth?

Spoiler

#10 Amber

Amber

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 155 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 03:59 AM

Nevermind, I realize I put :armor in the wrong position and I should put :armor on the last one  :lol:



#11 TheRPGLPer

TheRPGLPer

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 72 posts
  • RM Skill - Designer

Posted 05 August 2013 - 10:27 AM

Hello, I've run into a problem when using the quest_start(:symbol) command:

rpgvxscreenshot.png

Referring to this section of the Game_Interpreter script:

Spoiler

And here is my quest setup:

Spoiler

 

EDIT: The quest system script says it requires CSCA Core 1.0.8+ but the link for the core script only gives me 1.0.7. Is that a typo or the problem?


Edited by TheRPGLPer, 05 August 2013 - 10:29 AM.

Visit my Website to view my games & more stuff created by me:

http://www.therpglper.com

Visit my Youtube here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheRPGLPer

76561198021380786.png


#12 casper667

casper667

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 548 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 05 August 2013 - 12:31 PM

It was originally supposed to have 1.0.8 as a requirement, I must have just forgot to change that. 1.0.7 should still be the most recent version.

 

You're getting the error because there is no quest_start method. However, there is a start_quest method that probably does what you're trying to do ;)



#13 TheRPGLPer

TheRPGLPer

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 72 posts
  • RM Skill - Designer

Posted 05 August 2013 - 02:25 PM

Wow, I didn't even see that... did I really do that?

EDIT: Thank you Casper. Lol... didn't see that :D


Edited by TheRPGLPer, 05 August 2013 - 02:26 PM.

Visit my Website to view my games & more stuff created by me:

http://www.therpglper.com

Visit my Youtube here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheRPGLPer

76561198021380786.png


#14 Shadow Fox

Shadow Fox

    Advanced Member

  • + Sponsor
  • 202 posts
  • RM Skill - Writer

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:29 AM

Got a quick question.

How do you do repeatable quests with this quest system?



#15 casper667

casper667

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 548 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 27 August 2013 - 11:13 PM

I totally forgot about those types of quests! Repeatable quests are not possible with this quest system, hopefully I'll have time to add that in soon (just got back from vacation).



#16 npshmear

npshmear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 March 2014 - 07:19 PM

Hello,

 

I'm trying to get the start_quest(symbol) to work.

 

I have an NPC that says "start quest", and on the YES choice it's supposed to activate the quest symbol :quest_001.

start_quest(:quest_001)

Yet, I keep getting an error from the game interpreter.   Here is my Quest Script:

QUEST[0] = {
    :symbol => :quest_001,
    :name => "Sample Quest",
    :description => DESCRIPTION[0],
    :location => "City",
    :questgiver => "NPC",
    :difficulty => "Easy",
    :steps => STEP[0],
    :rewards => [REWARD[0]],
    :auto_earn_reward => true
    }

I'm not sure how to get the quest started, or how to activate that method.  Thanks for the help.



#17 shadowblack

shadowblack

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • 470 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 15 March 2014 - 04:45 AM

It would help if we can see a screenshot of your event.

Are you trying to start the quest in a new game, or are you using an old save from before you made changes to the script's settings?

#18 npshmear

npshmear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 March 2014 - 02:07 PM

Hello.  Thank you for the response.

 

I have an NPC that when spoken to should "GIVE" the quest.  I use the start_quest(:quest_001) call as the script shows.

 

http://imgur.com/zsWxoQ3

 

This is what my script looks like.

 

But i get an error.  I'm assuming I'm starting the quest incorrectly (with incorrect syntax).  

 

Do you have an example you could give me of how to initiate, advance, and end a quest?  I don't see any example within the script on how exactly to do this.  

 

Much appreciated.

 

edit:  So, I got it to work from a "NEW GAME" but it won't work from a saved game.  Why is that?  What do I need to do to get this to work from a saved game.  The screen shot that I used above worked from a NEW GAME.  But it won't work from a saved game.  Any ideas?

 

edit: I think the answer lies in what the author posted above.

I should use 

$csca.initialize_quests
start_quest(:quest_001)

if I am going to add quests to a game that already has a save.  That way the old saved game can pick up the new updated quests?  Is this correct?  So far this has worked for me, but I'm not sure if it's 100% correct.


Edited by npshmear, 16 March 2014 - 02:35 PM.


#19 xenius

xenius

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • RM Skill - Writer

Posted 14 June 2014 - 08:53 PM

Hey!

This script is freakin legendary!

One of the best scripts I ever used but there are some requests I have:

 

It would be much easier for people playing a game when...

 

...there is a progress bar when doing "collecting" quests like in your achievements-script

so you can see how many items you collected and how many left for quest completion (e.g. Collect Red Flowers 6/15)

 

...there is a sidebar of current progress of a selected quest like in all new MMORPGs

for example in diablo3:

 

dptkvndl.jpg

 

 

...there would automatically show up a text/animation when starting a new quest (like "New Quest recieved, open your Quest Journal to see detailed information")

 

 

and the last but not least

 

if you could set categories like "main story quest line" (quest line which have to done to finish the game)

and sidequests that can be abandoned or not relevant for the main story line

 

 

I have no Idea of scripting, but I hope my requests are within the bounds of possibility :]

 

 



#20 ChrisCtrl

ChrisCtrl

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 08 August 2014 - 06:50 AM

Is there a way to set up a toast for when a quest is started? Just I have an NPC who gives a quest right at the start of the game and I wanted to show the player that they have a quest straight off the bat.

 

I tried editing the script a bit and the toast would pop up but the box would be empty, is there a certain symbol I should be using to do this? or is it not possible?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: csca, quest, quests, system

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users