Photo

RPG MAKER VX ACE VS MV

poll

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

Poll: RPG Maker VX Ace vs MV

This is a public poll. Other members will be able to see which options you chose

Which do you prefer?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Achromatic

Achromatic

• 4 posts
  • LocationIn my parents basement.
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 11 May 2017 - 12:38 PM

Well, I don't really know if this is the right forum to post this topic but yeah
Please tell me the details of your preference, more appreciated if it involves scripting. I was just taking a break from coding cuz it's a hell of depressing thoughts. That's why I decided to take a go on RPG MAKER. But I come to like this engine. If it comes I might make this my main engine and i'm an aspiring indie dev so this decision might affect my entire life. Enough with the drama. So yeah. Please tell me ur reason

#2 Cookie Ninja

Cookie Ninja

Chocolate chip master!

• 654 posts
  • LocationLost woods
  • RM Skill - Coder

Posted 11 May 2017 - 02:34 PM

As a scripter I can only say... depends.

VXA: (Ruby)

• The script editor is much easier to work with. (open the editor, throw down some lines and run it)
  • The downside is that the source is poorly documented and when you get in deep you also end up guessing.

MV: (Java Script)

• No hidden source. (This is a big plus since you need less trial and error as you deep dive)
  • Plugin system, this is a pro and a con. Easy to turn on and of entire script files when debugging. Con, must re-import scripts after making changes. Forgetting to do so (easy mistake) might leave you clueless for hours.

If neither of these seems to outweigh the other, then I guess it comes down to what language you are most comfortable with.