Dear reader,

In all my years of software I have never come across a glitch this complex, confusing and aggravating.

Recently my uncle gave me a Windows XP computer to put in my room. So I put it up there and hooked it up. Then I decided that I wanted to transfer RPG Maker VX Ace from my Windows 7 to my XP. So I got a USB flash drive, hooked it up to the 7, put all RMVXA files onto it, put it in the XP, transferred everything and installed everything. I loaded my save and immediately play-tested it. At first I heard no sound so I turned up the speakers, still nothing. I was moving around the arrow keys and the menu sound fx was working fine. I started playing the game, still no sound. I checked the script and volume settings and everything was turned up all the way. I went to the music tester and one of the tracks played but the rest of them would not, even though all of the BGMs built in worked as well as the BGSs, MEs and SEs. Also it was recognized as playing but there was no sound.  So I did some research and decided it was a codec problem. So I downloaded the K-Lite codec pack, but to no avail. I started looking for the problem on google but no one has ever had this problem before. I thought my RMVXA was screwed up so I uninstalled it and reinstalled it several times, but to no avail. I still thought that it was a codec problem so I kept looking for codecs. So I decided to use some other advice I got from google and copied my save, deleted the original and loaded the copy. The sound was still not working so I made a new project and imported the song “Dream Weaver†to it and it played just fine. Then I knew that there’s no way it’s a codec problem because the sound was working on the new project. It had to be an issue with that particular project. I decided to test the video I put in the game and it worked fine as well.

So here is the basic breakdown.

-Everything works fine on Windows 7.

-BGM is recognized as playing but there’s no sound.