broie

Starting a project any advice appreciated!

Hi there, Im going to be starting a RPG game using RMVX Ace fairly soon for a college project. I do have some general planning already done such the plot for the game and the character background, I've also starting looking at ruby but coding really isnt my strongest area.

Im going to have roughly about 5 months to complete this game and its my first time using RMVX Ace or any software like it so I have been looking at tutorials and such to get to grips with it, Im not expecting the game to be anything amazing when its finished but good enough to get a respectable grade in so I hope I havent bitten off more than I can chew in choosing to make a game for my project.

I suppose my reason for making this thread is can anybody give me some pointers about how I should go about development, like what aspect of the game should I start creating first? perhaps creating maps first then moving onto something else or doing it all iteratively building it up into a larger game with each iteration.

Perhaps theres some kind of roadmap for making a RPG that I could refer too?

Anyway any advice would be appreciated thanks!

Also apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place.

It really depends on your style (which will emerge as you get used to this). For example, I start with a loose plot, then start databasing, then start mapping, and if my plot goes on a tangent during this time I'm fine with it too. ^-^ But I know everyone has different methods, so don't feel restricted in how you have to flesh your game out.

Just an addendum (does this word exist?), since it's your first experience, you can start implementing the plot and maps using all the default mechanics and database, and customize things after you're more at home. This method has several drawbacks, but as a first experience is the easiest and most didatic I can think of.