Sign in to follow this  
GodsGunman

Time-Based Wait Instead of Frames?

I'm new to RPG Maker and I have searched on these forums and other places for about 20-25 minutes but to no avail.

If I want to make an event wait for x amount of seconds, is there a way to do that without relying on frames? I don't like the idea of not knowing exactly how long players will have to wait.

I'd rather not rely on a script if at all possible but if that is the last resort, are there any available?

Thanks.

60 frames is the equivalent of 1 second.

Did you read the title or the content? I thought I made it pretty clear that I did not want to use frames which was the whole point of this post, is there any other way to wait for time to pass such as local time or something of the like?

You could look into the Time functions.  Something like:

t = Time.now

@ts = t.sec + 5 if @ts.nil?

if t.sec >= @ts

end

but I've never tried that so not sure if it'll work.  But I don't see the point of not using frames.

You could look into the Time functions.  Something like:

t = Time.now

@ts = t.sec + 5 if @ts.nil?

if t.sec >= @ts

end

but I've never tried that so not sure if it'll work.  But I don't see the point of not using frames.

Great, where can I find some more information on that? Is there documentation? Looks like exactly what I want.

I'm used to programming for things that have nothing to do with gaming so I don't know a lot about frames. My understanding is if someone has a very slow or very fast computer, 60 frames will go by a lot slower or faster than what I want it to. Sure you might be able to set a limit to how high fps can go, but that only fixes half the problem, and even if slow computers just skip frames to catch up, it's still not exact like seconds/milliseconds are.

Edited by GodsGunman