regendo

Title Screen Skip (if no save file exists)

(original post)

Hello there.

I'm pretty new in the maker community (got my RMXP in august) and only got a little into RGSS (mostly by tutorials on "Scientia", a german wiki for rpg maker).

So when I got my Ace trial a few days ago, I decided to just look into the pre-installed scripts and get started with RGSS3.

When I looked through the threads, I noticed Gigglemoo's Thread and noticed an interesting script idea (I don't think it's against the rules to steal ideas? :o) that didn't sound too difficult so I thought, why not just do that script to get started and get some practice.

So here's what I've come up with. If there's anything you think should be improved, please say so.

Basically, we edit SceneManager.run so that if there is no save file to be found, we start a new game instead of changing to Scene_Title. And yes, the changed code is pretty much copied from Scene_Title.command_new_game .

This script skips the title screen completely and starts a new game instead if no safe-file exists. This allows for a more direct entry for the player and for a more convenient testing experience for the creator.

Since of June 3rd, 2012, this script no longer overwrites SceneManager#run, but no aliases and changes SceneManager#first_scene_class. The results are the same, but there is a tiny bit more compability (though I doubt that, in this script's case, this will matter).

You can always view the most recent version of this script in my github repository. Alternatively you can download the latest release as a .rb, .zip, or .tar.gz from the releases section (direct download for .rb). The latest release isn't necessarily the most up-to-date version of the script, but will be updated every time an important change occurs.

To implement, C&P as a new script above Main.

Edited by regendo