Sign in to follow this  
Madcap McGee

Non-combat combat options?

Hi!

I'm totally new to VX Ace (and RPG Maker in general), but I'm trying to puzzle my way through my first game.

What I'm hoping to do is something similar to the new (non-RPG Maker) game, Undertale. In that game, you can beat up monsters like any normal JRPG, but there's another option. You can talk to them, dance with them, etc. and either befriend them or scare them away or come to any other number of pacifistic resolutions.

Is something like this possible in VX Ace? Preferably without scripting, because I know less than nothing about that.

Ideally, it would work like this:

Character A has a skill called 'Console.'

Character A could use this skill in battle. Meanwhile, the monster would attack as normal.

After using Console X number of times, the monster is calmed and the battle finishes.

Different monsters may require the skill to be used more than once. Or in combination with another skill ('Hug', 'Cheer up', etc.). It would need to be contextual to the monster.

Bonus bits:

It would be great if using the correct combination of skills caused the enemy give different XP/Gold than if it were defeated through physical means. (Or perhaps none at all, maybe it escapes instead?)

It would also be great if some/all of these skills could be used out of combat on party members. Probably not to any actual effect (no stat buffs, etc.), but to cause some dialogue to pop up, perhaps.

Like I said, I'm completely new to this. So far, the best idea I have is to have the skills in question call some common events, have those events manipulate switches, then have the switches do things within the battle events for whatever troop I'm looking at.  The downsides I see here are:

1. Unless I program in a lot of switches (not out of the question, but not ideal), it would end up that you use the correct skill once and that would be enough to end the battle. I don't want it to be that easy.