Semolous

Games made with RM are 'automatically bad'

I've been seeing this a LOT more recently. People tend to always assume that if a game is made with RPG Maker, that it's automatically bad and not worth their time. While I can understand that the stigma is somewhat justified, I've played  way more good RPG Maker games than bad ones. What annoys me are comments like this 'let me guess, its going on steam for like 25 dollars and will bring nothing new to the table? sorry for being a skeptical dick (i was an rm developer myself a few years ago) but that is basically what rpg maker games have become since steam let everything in their store. generic. the good rpg maker games already exist' and 'unless it's something as outstanding as Hylics or something, its just basic and standard rpgmaker stuff'. This comment is basically saying that no effort gets put into an RM game, which simply is not true. At the end of the day, it's not about the engine, it's what you can do with it. What do you guys think? Do you think the stigma is justified, or do you think the stigma shouldn't exist?

Well, this is far from a new attitude towards the engine; I've been in the scene for six or seven years now and that has always been the case.