Hi everyone. I’ll try to keep this short and not too verbose. This project has actually been complete for about 2 months now, but since I tend to harbor feelings of self-doubt in things I do, I debated with myself as to whether it was suitable to be shared. Ultimately, I decided that it’s probably good enough.

I welcome constructive criticism, feedback, and of course any bug reports are very much appreciated.

Background
“Light of the World” is my RPG project that I worked on over the past 2.5 years. Ever since I was a kid, it’s been a dream of mine to create my own game, so I’m happy that I finally could realize that dream. However, it would make me even happier if others could enjoy it, since that’s the whole point of video games! Because I’m not a programmer and not good at graphic design, I was fortunate to be able to work on my project with RPG Maker VX Ace.

When I started making my game, I had two specific goals in mind. First, I wanted to compose all the music, and I wanted it all to be good. In my opinion, the best video games all have stellar soundtracks, so I put my absolute all into writing the music for “Light of the World”—and I hope it shows! Even if nothing else about my game is good, in the very least I hope my music is something that people can enjoy. My second aim was to write up a good storyline, and while I do think there are things I could’ve done better, I’m overall satisfied with the result.

Here’s a quick rundown of some things you can expect:
  • Language, alcohol, and one sexually suggestive part of the story; I’d say my game rates probably around “PG13,” though that’s just my opinion and I’m not in the business of ESRB ratings (So I'm not sure if this post would necessitate one of those "mature content" banners; my first instinct would be to say "no" but I'm not 100% familiar with the guidelines here on what qualifies as "mature")
  • ~10 hours of gameplay
  • Starts off kinda boring but it gets better (trust me)