ReemusX

Just bought RPGVX (not ace) - new and have a question

Spent most of my time in Unity and Gamemaker but wanted something nice and simple so I can focus more on my story lines and actions instead of coding 95% and 5% actually going anywhere...

So, I saw that RPG VX was on sale for $12...so, I figured why not... no sense messing with trial restrictions like most other types of software.

I started watching a tutorial channel but it seems that literally EVERY SINGLE tutorial is based on RPG VX ACE... I know they are essentially the same but the one thing I seem to be missing that is very important to my game idea are the random encounters (like a FF1 style of play)... I noticed that the "regions" icon is missing from my VX. I ran a search in help for region and do not see any results. I have also not found any info on whether or not this is a feature only in Ace?

Again, I am new to RPG Maker and already stopped until I figure out whether or not I have wasted $12.

Edited by ReemusX

I've never used VX, and not even sure this is what you're asking... but if I remember correctly, on most of the rpg makers, if you're looking to change the frequencies of the encounters you can do it on the map name.

Left hand side under the tile set - where you create and name your map, if you right click and edit it, you will find encounter rate. Or step rate... or something.

This controls how often you get random encounters on the map.

Of course, for specific battles like a boss battle, you can use events.

I hope that was what you are asking and hope it helped a little.

Edited by BillyX

4 hours ago, BillyX said:

I hope that was what you are asking and hope it helped a little.

Totally not what he was asking.

8 hours ago, ReemusX said:

whether or not I have wasted $12.

That's up to you. VX is an older software. In fact VX Ace is old as well. But almost anything you find will be VX Ace or MV. Ace uses scripts and MV uses plugins.