Sign in to follow this  
StatiZkyZ

Counterattack with certain skill if attacked with physical/magical attack.

Hello, me, a complete noob in scripting, want to get some help.

I want to create an enemy that's able to counterattack if they are in a certain state or 'stance'. The game does have the 'counterattack' state that has the general idea, but I want to make it slightly more complex.

First, I want to try to make a state of counterattack that will only counter magic attacks. Normal attacks will still do damage, but it will evade magic attack sort of case. Second, the game's normal counterattack state only counters with a normal attack. Is there a way to make the enemy counter with, say, a spell instead? Of course, they will only attack the player that attacks them last.

Can anyone help me?

I don't know of any pre-made scripts to do this, but there might be one. I custom-rolled something for my own game that achieves this, but it's pretty complicated and messy. (And extremely buggy if you want the counterattack to be a hit-all attack - had to workaround by activating a switch then using events to actually perform the attack.)

I recall doing this by looking for the code that triggers the normal counter attack, then diverting it to a certain custom function (a specific one for each enemy it's relevant to) that returns which attack and who to target - the latter part matters too, because some enemies counter by casting healing spells on themself, or aren't guaranteed to attack the character who attacked them, etc.

Hmm, I think I get the gist of it.

On 2/17/2019 at 3:38 AM, Ninjamida said:

diverting it to a certain custom function (a specific one for each enemy it's relevant to)

But I'm not sure what does this mean, can you please make it more clear?
Thanks for responding, by the way :)

Sorry about the slow response - I don't check this site often these days.