hello, I don't know exactly what to write for a greeting, I recently got RPG Maker MV and I will need all the help I can get to get started figuring this out, this is my first time getting serious about getting a game out there, I am excited to see how this all goes.

so, any tips for a newby?

Hey there and welcome to the herd!

The first tip I can give: Start small. Your first project(s) will most likely be really bad, due to lack of knowledge and experience. It's best to toy with the engine and make few small silly games first. Otherwise you may end up redoing things many times and not really achieving anything. :P

Good luck! ^_^ 

Hey! Welcome to the group :)

I definitely agree with Riki. You'll get experience as you go from doing small stuff and of course experimentation. Also! Don't be afraid to be super active here, it's a nice community but a little quiet these days but being active will help make friends and of course help in making your game...or in procrastination. hehe

*sprinkles fairy dust on the new person* Hmmmm.... You don't look creepy to me... You look cute! Not that being cute and creepy are mutually exclusive mind. I think I for one manage both pretty well sometimes. I mean I am a fairy after all! We tend to do that. But... That face just looks so cute and innocent! It makes me want to play with you! *giggles and smiles just a little too widely*

Hmmm... I don't really use MV, but my advice works for just about anything: Have fun! Don't let your time making a game become all stress and deadlines and seriousness! Try and relax and not worry so much. Too many people get burned out, so take your time okay? :3