SugaRay Jenkins

[RMVX & A] Day-Night Transition without the scripting

Useful?!  

17 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Hey everyone, I finaly decided to join the community because I thought I could help people out in the hardships of making games.

(Of course I'm still a noob myself, And this is my very first post so don't ding me to bad XD)

Now I've been playing around with RMVXA a lot lately and while i was randomly making a BS test run of a enemy attack system.

I came to the conclusion that I wanted to actualy try to make a back story. So I ended up making a back story and then I ended up

deciding I wanted to make a game! So I pondered for a while and wanted to add all kinds of crazy features and nick nacks and what not. The only problem is that I know no codeing of any sort at all (You know, with the scripting tab) However I noticed I was decent at comeing up with events on the event editor.

Well I wanted to add a bit of demention to my game and add that little touch I don't think a lot of people have. I wanted to make a day and night transition system. Now at first I was thinking "Holy crap, this is going to be very complicated. There will be thousands of variables, a hundred triggers and pages and pages of scripting!" But fortunatly, through some crafty thinking and my ability to over analize things, my transition system was born. (Also note that, from what I understand, RMVX works just like RMVXA so this can be implemented into that program as well, though I've never tried to do it myself.)

Untitled.jpg

Now that's just a glance at how the map looks. It gets right to the point. The man at the bottom turns the cycle on.

Goingintonight.png

After a certain amount of time the cycle will then tell you that it's going to be night.

Night.jpg